Report No. 037 Head-to-head Desk: Companions Filed Updated Last checked to
Candy AI vs Kindroid (2026): Which AI Girlfriend App?
Candy AI costs far less per year. Kindroid has deeper memory, live video calls and firmer age checks. A head-to-head on memory, media, rules, price and refunds.
Quick answer
Kindroid is our pick: it documents memory with journals of up to 500 entries, adds live video calls and checks age through payment or a Yoti selfie. Candy AI costs $47.88 a year against Kindroid's $159.99 App Store price and has a clearer refund rule, but its chats may train models and age is self-declared. Checked to .
Our pick: Kindroid facts · Visit kindroid.ai ↗ (opens in new tab)
At a glance
- Candy AI's yearly plan costs $112.11 less than Kindroid's App Store yearly plan.
- Candy AI includes 100 tokens a month for all media, or 330 on Premium Plus.
- Kindroid journals hold up to 500 entries.
- Candy AI refunds need a request within 24 hours and 20 tokens or fewer used.
- Kindroid's free preview gives 50 messages, against 5 on Candy AI's free tier.
| Dimension | Kindroid · Our pick | Candy AI |
|---|---|---|
| Official site | kindroid.ai | candy.ai |
| Starting price | $15.99/month (App Store) (3-month $42.99, yearly $159.99; Ultra $28.99 and MAX $68.99 add-ons; web usually cheaper)App Store listing (opens in new tab), checked | $3.99/month billed yearly ($47.88) (Monthly $9.99 first month then $13.99; 3-month $26.97; Premium Plus tier adds tokens)Price page (opens in new tab), checked |
| Free tier | One-time preview: 50 messages, 5 selfies, 2 KindroidsSubscriptions doc (opens in new tab), checked | 5 messages, 1 custom character, 1 imageHelp center: free users (opens in new tab), checked |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android, API | Web |
| Customization | User sets name, personality, backstory, appearance and voice; custom voices for subscribers. | Builder sets ethnicity, age range, eyes, hair, body, personality, voice and hobbies. |
| Memory | Backstory, key memories, long-term memory, journals (500 entries) and cascaded memory for subscribers. | Says it remembers preferences; Premium Plus has 20 memory slots; memory ties to the active chat. |
| Photos, voice and calls | Photo and video selfies, voice messages, live voice calls and live video calls. | Images, voice messages, voice calls (beta), and short videos made from generated images. |
| Content rules | Policy allows NSFW and ERP; bans CSAM, imminent self-harm, harm to others, non-consensual real-person images.Moderation guidelines (opens in new tab), checked | Subscriptions page lists 18+ images and videos on every Premium plan; bans CSAM, minor-like content, deepfakes, celebrity impersonation, illegal content.Price page (opens in new tab), checked |
| Credits and tokens | Unlimited chat; paid selfie credits (50/100 packs) and audio credits (500k pack) for voice above monthly grant.In-app purchases doc (opens in new tab), checked | 100 tokens/month (Premium Plus 330) for images, video, voice messages, calls, custom AIs; chat unlimited.Help center: tokens (opens in new tab), checked |
| Privacy and training | Chats kept until AI or account deletion; encrypted at rest and in transit, not end-to-end. Training: Not published. | Chats may be de-identified to train AI models; account data kept up to 3 years after last activity.Privacy notice (opens in new tab), checked |
| Age verification | 18+. Payment on file counts as verification; flagged free users verify with Yoti selfie or government ID. | Self-declaration of 18+ at entry; may add more checks per local law.Underage policy (opens in new tab), checked |
| Cancellation and refunds | 3-day trial needs payment and auto-converts; refunds case-by-case, generally all sales final; no prorated refund.Subscriptions doc (opens in new tab), checked | Access to period end; refund only within 24 h, card payments, 20 tokens or fewer used; EU/UK 14-day right.Terms, sections 9 and 10 (opens in new tab), checked |
| User reports | Trustpilot 2.6/5 from 20 reviews; complaints on NSFW limits, billing, memory (third-party). | No public reviews found; Trustpilot profile removed for guideline breach (third-party). |
| Best for | Long-term companion with deep memory | Budget companion with photos |
How we compared
We compared Candy AI and Kindroid on the nine companion dimensions from our full companion ranking, plus price, free tier and platforms. The table above shows every fact side by side. All facts come from each company’s own pricing pages, help articles, policies and app listings. Trustpilot figures are third-party and marked as such. Where a company does not publish a fact, we write “Not stated”.
The nine dimensions are customization, memory, photos and voice and calls, content rules, credits and tokens, privacy and training, age verification, cancellation and refunds, and user reports. Memory and media weigh most, because they decide whether a companion still feels like the same person after weeks of chat. Written content rules come next, then the real cost, then privacy and age checks.
The two apps sit at opposite ends of our ranking. Kindroid is first. Candy AI is sixth. That gap is not about price, where Candy AI is far ahead. It is about memory, media, age checks and what happens to your chats. Our methodology page explains the full process. Facts were last checked on 25 October 2026.
How do Candy AI and Kindroid compare on each dimension?
Kindroid leads on most dimensions. Candy AI leads on price, on its appearance builder and on a written refund rule. Each section below starts with the short answer.
Customization: which one lets you set more?
Candy AI has the more detailed appearance builder. Kindroid gives more control over voice.
Candy AI uses a step-by-step builder. You set ethnicity, age range, eyes, hair, body, personality, voice and hobbies. This is the most detailed builder in our companion ranking, and it suits users who want to design a look before the first message.
Kindroid works more through text. You set the name, personality, backstory, appearance and voice. Subscribers can also use custom voices, which Candy AI’s published facts do not mention.
So the split is clear. Candy AI is better for building a look. Kindroid is better for shaping a voice and a written backstory.
Edge: Candy AI, for the appearance builder.
Memory: which one still knows you next week?
Kindroid, by a wide margin. This is the dimension where the two apps differ most.
Kindroid’s memory doc lists five layers: a backstory, key memories, long-term memory, journals with up to 500 entries and, for subscribers, cascaded memory. That is the most detailed memory documentation on our companion desk. You can write important facts into journals so the companion recalls them when a topic comes up.
Candy AI says its companions remember your preferences. Premium Plus adds 20 memory slots. Its help article says memory ties to the active chat, so what one chat learns does not carry over to a new one. The total memory length is Not stated.
Kindroid’s third-party Trustpilot reviews include complaints about memory, so it is not flawless. Still, it publishes far more about how memory works, and it gives you more tools to manage it.
Edge: Kindroid.
Photos, voice and calls: what can each one send?
Kindroid has the wider set, because it adds live video calls and its voice calls are out of beta.
Kindroid offers photo and video selfies, voice messages, live voice calls and live video calls. It also supports group chats.
Candy AI offers images, voice messages, voice calls (still in beta) and short videos made from generated images. Its media is strong on images, which is what the app is built around. It has no live video calls in its published facts.
If you mostly want photos, both apps deliver. If you want to talk face to face, only Kindroid does that.
Edge: Kindroid, for live video calls.
Content rules: what does each one allow in writing?
Both write down their bans. Kindroid states its adult allowance more directly.
Kindroid’s moderation guidelines allow NSFW and erotic roleplay in chat. They ban CSAM, content about imminent self-harm, harm to others and non-consensual images of real people.
Candy AI’s subscriptions page lists 18+ images and videos on every Premium plan. Its blocked content policy bans CSAM, minor-like content, deepfakes, celebrity impersonation and illegal content. Its underage policy is a separate page.
The bans overlap on the main points: both ban sexual content involving minors, and both ban fake images of real people. Candy AI is more explicit about minor-like content and celebrity impersonation. Kindroid is more explicit that adult roleplay in chat is allowed. Third-party Trustpilot reviews of Kindroid include complaints about NSFW limits, so the written rule does not stop every friction.
Edge: Kindroid, narrowly, for a direct written allowance.
Credits and tokens: what costs extra?
Both include unlimited chat on paid plans. Both charge for media beyond the plan. Candy AI publishes its grant. Kindroid does not publish the size of its monthly grant.
Candy AI gives 100 tokens a month, or 330 on Premium Plus. Those tokens pay for images, videos, voice messages, calls and custom AIs. That grant is small, because one token pool covers every kind of media. Heavy users of calls and video will run out first.
Kindroid includes unlimited chat. Selfies and voice above the monthly grant need paid credits: selfie packs of 50 or 100, and an audio pack of 500k credits. The size of the monthly grant is Not stated in the sources we used.
Neither app is clearly cheaper on extras. Candy AI is easier to plan for, because the number is published. Kindroid splits selfies and audio into separate packs, so a voice-heavy user does not spend image credits on calls.
Edge: even.
Privacy and training: what happens to your chats?
Kindroid. Candy AI says in writing that chats may train models. Kindroid does not say either way.
Candy AI’s privacy notice says chats may be de-identified and used to train AI models. Account data is kept for up to 3 years after your last activity.
Kindroid keeps chats until you delete the AI or the account. They are encrypted at rest and in transit, but not end to end. Whether chats train models is Not stated.
An unclear answer is not a good answer, but a written yes to training is worse for most users of an adult companion. Kindroid also deletes with the AI or account, while Candy AI keeps account data for years after you stop.
Edge: Kindroid.
Age verification: how does each check that you are an adult?
Kindroid checks more firmly. Candy AI relies on what you say.
Kindroid is 18+. Payment on file counts as verification. Free users who are flagged must verify with a Yoti selfie or a government ID.
Candy AI uses self-declaration of 18+ at entry. It says it may add more checks where local law requires them.
Our age verification brief compares these methods across adult AI services.
Edge: Kindroid.
Cancellation and refunds: what happens when you stop?
Candy AI has the clearer refund rule. Kindroid is stricter.
Candy AI keeps your access until the end of the paid period. It gives a refund only when you ask within 24 hours, paid by card, and used 20 tokens or fewer. Users in the EU and UK also keep a 14-day right of withdrawal. The window is narrow, but it is written down.
Kindroid’s 3-day trial needs a payment method and converts to a paid plan automatically. Refunds are case by case, sales are generally final, and there are no prorated refunds. Third-party Trustpilot reviews of Kindroid include complaints about billing.
If you are not sure you will keep the app, Candy AI gives you a short, defined exit. With Kindroid, cancel the trial before day three if you do not want to pay.
Edge: Candy AI.
User reports: what do paying users say?
Kindroid has a small public record. Candy AI has none we could find.
Kindroid has 2.6 out of 5 from 20 reviews on Trustpilot, with complaints about NSFW limits, billing and memory. These figures are third-party.
For Candy AI we found no public reviews. Its Trustpilot profile was removed for a guideline breach, according to Trustpilot.
A low rating from a small sample is weak evidence. A removed profile gives you no evidence at all, and a reason to be careful.
Edge: Kindroid.
How much do Candy AI and Kindroid cost?
Candy AI is much cheaper on yearly billing and somewhat cheaper on monthly billing. Kindroid says its web prices are usually lower than its App Store prices, but the web figures are Not stated in the sources we used.
| Plan | Candy AI | Kindroid (App Store) |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly | $9.99 first month, then $13.99 | $15.99 |
| Three months | $26.97 | $42.99 |
| Yearly | $47.88 ($3.99 a month) | $159.99 (about $13.33 a month) |
| Higher tiers | Premium Plus, 330 tokens a month | Ultra $28.99, MAX $68.99 |
| Extras | Media paid from a monthly token grant | Selfie packs (50 or 100) and audio packs (500k) |
| Free tier | 5 messages, 1 custom character, 1 image | One-time 50 messages, 5 selfies, 2 Kindroids |
Worked from these prices, a year on Candy AI’s yearly plan costs $112.11 less than a year on Kindroid’s App Store yearly plan. On monthly billing, the first year of Candy AI costs $163.88 ($9.99 plus eleven months at $13.99), against $191.88 for Kindroid. That is $28 less on Candy AI. The three-month plans differ by $16.02.
Candy AI’s low price buys you unlimited chat and 100 tokens a month. If you want many calls, videos or voice messages, you will need Premium Plus or more tokens, and the gap narrows. Kindroid’s Ultra and MAX tiers also add cost on top of its base plan.
Our AI girlfriend app cost report shows the full cost of these plans next to the rest of the desk.
What does the free tier give?
Kindroid’s free preview gives more. It is a one-time allowance of 50 messages, 5 selfies and 2 Kindroids. After that, you need a plan or the 3-day trial, which requires a card.
Candy AI’s free tier gives 5 messages, 1 custom character and 1 image. That is enough to try the builder, but not enough to judge the chat.
Which platforms do they support?
Kindroid runs on the web, iOS and Android, and it has an API. Candy AI is a web platform, and we list no native iOS or Android app for it. If you want a native phone app, Kindroid is the only choice of the two.
Where does each one win?
Candy AI wins on price, the builder and a written refund window. Kindroid wins on memory, media, privacy, age checks, apps and the public record.
Where Candy AI wins
- Price. $47.88 a year, against $159.99 for Kindroid on the App Store.
- Builder. Ethnicity, age range, eyes, hair, body, personality, voice and hobbies, all set in one flow.
- Refund rule. A written 24-hour window for card payments with 20 tokens or fewer used, plus 14 days in the EU and UK.
Where Kindroid wins
- Memory. Five documented layers, with journals of up to 500 entries. Candy AI ties memory to the active chat.
- Media. Live voice and video calls, plus video selfies. Candy AI’s voice calls are still in beta.
- Privacy. No written statement that chats train models, and deletion with the AI or account. Candy AI says de-identified chats may train models and keeps account data up to 3 years.
- Age checks. Payment on file, or a Yoti selfie or ID. Candy AI uses self-declaration.
- Apps. Web, iOS, Android and an API.
- Free preview. 50 messages against 5.
Which one should you choose?
Choose Kindroid if you want a companion that keeps knowing you over weeks and months. It documents its memory in detail, offers live video calls, writes down that adult roleplay is allowed and checks age firmly. It is our pick for most adults, and it is the top pick in our companion ranking. Cancel the trial before it converts if you are only trying it, because refunds are rare. See the Kindroid profile.
Choose Candy AI if price comes first and you mainly want to design a character and receive images. At $3.99 a month on yearly billing, it costs less than a third of Kindroid’s App Store yearly price. Accept the trade-offs before you pay: chats may train models, age is self-declared, memory ties to the active chat and the token grant is small.
If you want deep memory for less money than Kindroid, read our Kindroid vs Nomi comparison and our Nomi vs Candy AI comparison. For more options like Candy AI, see our Candy AI alternatives report.
Our pick
The most documented memory, voice and video calls, written NSFW rules and apps on every platform.
Questions readers ask
Is Candy AI cheaper than Kindroid?
Yes. Candy AI costs $3.99 a month billed yearly ($47.88). Kindroid's App Store yearly plan is $159.99, about $13.33 a month. On monthly billing the gap is smaller: Candy AI is $9.99 for the first month, then $13.99, and Kindroid is $15.99.
Which one remembers you better, Candy AI or Kindroid?
Kindroid. Its memory doc lists a backstory, key memories, long-term memory, journals with up to 500 entries and cascaded memory for subscribers. Candy AI says it remembers preferences, gives Premium Plus users 20 memory slots, and ties memory to the active chat.
Does Candy AI or Kindroid use my chats to train AI models?
Candy AI's privacy notice says chats may be de-identified and used to train AI models. Kindroid does not state whether chats train models. Kindroid encrypts chats at rest and in transit, but not end to end.
Can I get a refund from Candy AI or Kindroid?
Candy AI has a written rule: a refund within 24 hours, for card payments, with 20 tokens or fewer used, plus a 14-day right in the EU and UK. Kindroid handles refunds case by case and says sales are generally final.
Does Candy AI have an iPhone or Android app?
Candy AI is a web platform, and we list no native iOS or Android app for it. Kindroid has native iOS and Android apps, a web app and an API.
Which app has video calls?
Kindroid has live voice calls and live video calls. Candy AI has voice calls, still marked beta, and short videos made from generated images, but no live video calls.
Check log
The vendor pages we read, the date we read them and what they said. These are document checks of published pages.
| Date | Tool | Checked | Found |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindroid | App Store listing (opens in new tab) | Price: $15.99/month (App Store) (3-month $42.99, yearly $159.99; Ultra $28.99 and MAX $68.99 add-ons; web usually cheaper) | |
| Kindroid | Subscriptions doc (opens in new tab) | Doc updated 13 Oct 2026. The one-time preview is 50 messages (15 in some regions).Free tier: One-time preview: 50 messages, 5 selfies, 2 KindroidsCancellation and refunds: 3-day trial needs payment and auto-converts; refunds case-by-case, generally all sales final; no prorated refund. | |
| Kindroid | In-app purchases doc (opens in new tab) | Credits and tokens: Unlimited chat; paid selfie credits (50/100 packs) and audio credits (500k pack) for voice above monthly grant. | |
| Kindroid | Moderation guidelines (opens in new tab) | Content rules: Policy allows NSFW and ERP; bans CSAM, imminent self-harm, harm to others, non-consensual real-person images. | |
| Kindroid | Legal: intimate image removal policy (opens in new tab) | Policy effective 15 Oct 2026; bans intimate images of a real person made or shared without consent.Content rules: Policy allows NSFW and ERP; bans CSAM, imminent self-harm, harm to others, non-consensual real-person images. | |
| Candy AI | Price page (opens in new tab) | Price: $3.99/month billed yearly ($47.88) (Monthly $9.99 first month then $13.99; 3-month $26.97; Premium Plus tier adds tokens)Content rules: Subscriptions page lists 18+ images and videos on every Premium plan; bans CSAM, minor-like content, deepfakes, celebrity impersonation, illegal content. | |
| Candy AI | Help center (opens in new tab) | The help-center articles returned an error (HTTP 403) to our reader. The free-tier, token and Premium Plus figures are from the 23 Oct 2026 check. | |
| Candy AI | Terms, sections 9 and 10 (opens in new tab) | Terms revised 22 Sep 2026.Cancellation and refunds: Access to period end; refund only within 24 h, card payments, 20 tokens or fewer used; EU/UK 14-day right. | |
| Candy AI | Privacy notice (opens in new tab) | Notice revised 19 Oct 2026; lists training AI models as a purpose and de-identified interactions in dataset work.Privacy and training: Chats may be de-identified to train AI models; account data kept up to 3 years after last activity. | |
| Candy AI | Underage policy (opens in new tab) | Age verification: Self-declaration of 18+ at entry; may add more checks per local law. | |
| Kindroid | App Store listing (opens in new tab) | Price: $15.99/month (App Store) (3-month $42.99, yearly $159.99; Ultra $28.99 and MAX $68.99 add-ons; web usually cheaper) | |
| Kindroid | Subscriptions doc (opens in new tab) | Free tier: One-time preview: 50 messages, 5 selfies, 2 KindroidsCancellation and refunds: 3-day trial needs payment and auto-converts; refunds case-by-case, generally all sales final; no prorated refund. | |
| Kindroid | In-app purchases doc (opens in new tab) | Credits and tokens: Unlimited chat; paid selfie credits (50/100 packs) and audio credits (500k pack) for voice above monthly grant. | |
| Kindroid | Moderation guidelines (opens in new tab) | Content rules: Policy allows NSFW and ERP; bans CSAM, imminent self-harm, harm to others, non-consensual real-person images. | |
| Candy AI | Help center: free users (opens in new tab) | Free tier: 5 messages, 1 custom character, 1 image | |
| Candy AI | Help center: tokens (opens in new tab) | Credits and tokens: 100 tokens/month (Premium Plus 330) for images, video, voice messages, calls, custom AIs; chat unlimited. | |
| Candy AI | Blocked content policy (opens in new tab) | Bans CSAM, minor-like content, deepfakes, celebrity impersonation, illegal content. |
Sources
- Kindroid subscriptions doc
- Kindroid moderation guidelines
- Kindroid age verification
- Kindroid memory doc
- Kindroid in-app purchases
- Kindroid legal (terms and privacy)
- Kindroid homepage
- Kindroid: App Store listing
- Kindroid: Trustpilot (third-party)
- Candy AI homepage
- Candy AI: Subscriptions page
- Candy AI: Terms of Service
- Candy AI: Privacy Notice
- Candy AI: Underage policy
- Candy AI: Blocked content policy
- Candy AI help: Premium Plus
- Candy AI help: tokens
- Candy AI help: free users
- Candy AI help: memory
- Candy AI help: mobile app
- Candy AI: Trustpilot (third-party)
How we compare: fixed dimensions per desk, cited sources, verdicts signed off by the editor-in-chief. Read the methodology.