Report No. 042 Head-to-head Desk: Companions Filed Last checked to
Candy AI vs OurDream AI (2026): Which Is Worth It?
Candy AI costs $47.88 a year. OurDream costs $119.88 and lists 1,000 dreamcoins a month. A head-to-head on media, rules, age checks, privacy and refunds.
Quick answer
OurDream is our pick of the two, because its homepage lists 1,000 dreamcoins a month and its help center publishes a price for every action, it uses third-party age checks where the law requires them and its content policy is more detailed; Candy AI costs $72 less a year at $47.88 and has a fixed 24-hour refund rule, but it includes only 100 tokens a month and does not publish what each action costs. Checked to .
Our pick: ourdream.ai facts · Visit ourdream.ai ↗ (opens in new tab)
At a glance
- Candy AI's yearly plan costs $47.88, against $119.88 for OurDream's yearly plan.
- OurDream's homepage lists 1,000 dreamcoins a month; Candy AI includes 100 tokens a month.
- OurDream charges 100 dreamcoins for each 5 seconds of video.
- Candy AI refunds need a request within 24 hours and 20 tokens or fewer used.
- OurDream does not refund a purchase once more than 25% of it is used.
| Dimension | ourdream.ai · Our pick | Candy AI |
|---|---|---|
| Official site | ourdream.ai | candy.ai |
| Starting price | $9.99/month billed yearly ($119.88) (Monthly plan $19.99; homepage FAQ says both include 1,000 dreamcoins each month)Homepage (opens in new tab), checked | $3.99/month billed yearly ($47.88) (Monthly $9.99 first month then $13.99; 3-month $26.97; Premium Plus tier adds tokens)Price page (opens in new tab), checked |
| Free tier | Free users pay 1 dreamcoin per chat messageHelp center: what costs coins (opens in new tab), checked | 5 messages, 1 custom character, 1 imageHelp center: free users (opens in new tab), checked |
| Platforms | Web | Web |
| Customization | User picks appearance, personality and voice; realistic and anime styles. | Builder sets ethnicity, age range, eyes, hair, body, personality, voice and hobbies. |
| Memory | Homepage says companions remember past chats; no documented limits found. | Says it remembers preferences; Premium Plus has 20 memory slots; memory ties to the active chat. |
| Photos, voice and calls | In-chat images, image and video generation, narration with voices, and voice calls. | Images, voice messages, voice calls (beta), and short videos made from generated images. |
| Content rules | Adult content allowed; bans minors, real people, bestiality, gore, self-harm and user-perpetrated non-consent.Prohibited content policy (opens in new tab), checked | Subscriptions page lists 18+ images and videos on every Premium plan; bans CSAM, minor-like content, deepfakes, celebrity impersonation, illegal content.Price page (opens in new tab), checked |
| Credits and tokens | Dreamcoins: voice calls 50/min, 2 images 10, video 100 per 5 s, premium-model reply 1 coin.Help center: what costs coins (opens in new tab), checked | 100 tokens/month (Premium Plus 330) for images, video, voice messages, calls, custom AIs; chat unlimited.Help center: tokens (opens in new tab), checked |
| Privacy and training | Does not sell chats; chats go to third-party model providers. Privacy page says user data may train AI models.Privacy policy (opens in new tab), checked | Chats may be de-identified to train AI models; account data kept up to 3 years after last activity.Privacy notice (opens in new tab), checked |
| Age verification | Self-confirmation at sign-up; Go.cam or AgeVerif ID/face check where law requires (for example UK, Australia).Age verification policy (opens in new tab), checked | Self-declaration of 18+ at entry; may add more checks per local law.Underage policy (opens in new tab), checked |
| Cancellation and refunds | Access lasts to period end; no refund if over 25% used; monthly not refunded once coins used; no crypto refunds.Help center: refunds (opens in new tab), checked | Access to period end; refund only within 24 h, card payments, 20 tokens or fewer used; EU/UK 14-day right.Terms, sections 9 and 10 (opens in new tab), checked |
| User reports | No public reviews found; Trustpilot profile removed for guideline breach (third-party). | No public reviews found; Trustpilot profile removed for guideline breach (third-party). |
| Best for | Adult image and video generation | Budget companion with photos |
How we compared
We compared Candy AI and OurDream on the nine dimensions of our companions desk: customization, memory, photos and voice and calls, content rules, credits and tokens, privacy and training, age verification, cancellation and refunds, and user reports. We also compared starting price, free tier and platforms. The table above shows every fact side by side, and each price and limit links to the vendor page it came from, with the date we read it.
Every fact comes from the two companies’ own pages: price pages, help-center articles, terms, privacy notices and content policies. We read them again on 27 October 2026. Two pages did not load for our reader that day. Candy AI’s help-center articles returned an error, so its free-tier, token and Premium Plus figures are from our check on 23 October 2026. OurDream’s full privacy policy also returned an error, so its training statement is from the same earlier check. The check log at the end of this report lists each page and date.
Figures that appear only on third-party sites are marked as third-party. Where a company does not publish a fact, we write “Not stated”. The check log records document checks of what each company publishes.
For this pair we weighed media and real cost first, because both apps sell unlimited chat for a flat fee and meter everything else. Written rules, age checks and privacy come next, then refunds. In our full companion ranking, OurDream is third and Candy AI is sixth. Our methodology page explains the process.
How do Candy AI and OurDream compare on each dimension?
OurDream leads on media, content rules and age checks. Candy AI leads on price and on a short, fixed refund rule. Each section starts with the short answer.
Customization: which one lets you set more?
Candy AI has the more detailed builder.
Candy AI’s builder sets ethnicity, age range, eyes, hair, body, personality, voice and hobbies in one flow. It is the most detailed appearance builder on our companions desk.
OurDream lets you pick appearance, personality and voice, in realistic and anime styles. Its help center also lists community character packs, from 250 to 1,000 dreamcoins each.
Edge: Candy AI, for the builder.
Memory: which one still knows you next week?
Neither documents its memory well. Candy AI publishes slightly more.
Candy AI says its companions remember your preferences. Its Premium Plus tier adds 20 memory slots, and its help article says memory ties to the active chat. The total memory length is Not stated.
OurDream’s homepage says its companions use “advanced memory systems” and remember past chats. We found no documented limits or controls.
If memory matters most to you, neither app is the right choice. Kindroid and Nomi document far more, as our Candy AI alternatives report shows.
Edge: Candy AI, narrowly, for the published memory slots.
Photos, voice and calls: what can each one send?
Both send images, voice and video. OurDream publishes what each one costs.
Candy AI offers images, voice messages, voice calls (still marked beta) and short videos made from generated images. Its token cost per action is Not stated.
OurDream offers images in chat, separate image generation and editing, narration with voices, voice calls and video generation. Its help center lists a coin price for each action, including video up to 60 seconds and audio added to video.
Edge: OurDream.
Content rules: what does each one allow in writing?
Both allow adult content and ban content involving minors and real people. OurDream’s policy is longer and more specific.
Candy AI’s subscriptions page lists 18+ images and 18+ videos for every Premium plan. Its blocked content policy bans CSAM, minor-like content, deepfakes, celebrity impersonation and illegal content.
OurDream’s prohibited content policy bans minors in any visual form, characters that resemble real people, bestiality, gratuitous gore, self-harm and many other themes. It allows fiction where the user is on the receiving side of non-consent, and it bans scenes that frame the user as the perpetrator.
Edge: OurDream, for detail.
Credits and tokens: what costs extra?
Both include unlimited chat on paid plans. OurDream lists ten times the units and prices each action. Candy AI does not.
Candy AI includes 100 tokens a month, or 330 on Premium Plus. One pool pays for images, video, voice messages, calls and new custom companions. Candy AI does not publish the token cost of any single action. A third-party source puts an image at about 4 tokens.
OurDream’s homepage FAQ says both plans include 1,000 dreamcoins each month. Its help center says subscribers receive 1,000 dreamcoins on their billing anniversary and that dreamcoins do not refresh monthly. Ask support how this applies to the yearly plan before you budget around it. The help center lists the prices: 10 coins for 2 images, 5 coins for an image in chat, 50 coins a minute for voice calls, 100 coins per 5 seconds of video and 1 coin per reply from its Genius models. Subscriber chat on the standard model costs nothing.
Edge: OurDream.
Privacy and training: what happens to your chats?
Both say chats may be used to train models. Candy AI publishes clearer retention periods.
Candy AI’s privacy notice, revised on 19 October 2026, lists training AI models as a purpose and refers to de-identified interactions in dataset work. Account data is kept for up to 3 years after your last activity, and log files for 30 days.
OurDream’s privacy summary says it does not sell your data and that each chat message goes to a third-party model provider. Its full privacy policy said user data may train AI models when we read it on 23 October 2026. The summary does not state retention periods.
Edge: even.
Age verification: how does each check that you are an adult?
OurDream checks more firmly where the law requires it.
Candy AI uses a self-declaration of 18+ at entry. Its underage policy says it may add more checks under local law.
OurDream asks every user to confirm their age at sign-up. In the UK, Australia and other places where the law requires it, a third-party provider, Go.cam or AgeVerif, checks age by face estimation, a live selfie, an ID or a credit card. OurDream receives only a pass or fail result. Our age verification brief compares these methods across adult AI services.
Edge: OurDream.
Cancellation and refunds: what happens when you stop?
Candy AI’s rule is shorter and fixed. OurDream’s rule is more open for annual plans and closed for monthly ones.
Candy AI keeps your access until the end of the paid period. It refunds a subscription only if you ask within 24 hours, paid by card and used 20 tokens or fewer. Token packs are refundable within 24 hours only if no tokens were used. EU and UK users have a 14-day right of withdrawal on the first purchase, reduced for what they used.
OurDream also keeps your access, and your unused coins, until the end of the paid period. It gives no refund once more than 25% of a purchase is used, and none on a monthly plan once its coins are used. Its help center says annual plans may get a full or partial refund. Crypto payments are not refundable, and card refunds take 5 to 10 business days.
Edge: Candy AI, for a rule you can plan around.
User reports: what do paying users say?
There is no public record for either app. Trustpilot removed both profiles for breaking its guidelines, according to Trustpilot. That leaves no independent review data to weigh.
Edge: even.
How much do Candy AI and OurDream cost?
Candy AI is cheaper on every billing term. OurDream includes far more media.
| Plan | Candy AI | OurDream |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly | $9.99 first month, then $13.99 | $19.99 |
| Three months | $26.97 ($8.99 a month) | Not listed |
| Yearly | $47.88 ($3.99 a month) | $119.88 ($9.99 a month) |
| First year on monthly billing | $163.88 | $239.88 |
| Media included | 100 tokens a month (330 on Premium Plus) | 1,000 dreamcoins a month (homepage FAQ) |
| Per-action prices | Not stated | Published in the help center |
| Free tier | 5 messages, 1 custom character, 1 image | Free users pay 1 dreamcoin per chat message |
Worked from these prices, OurDream’s yearly plan costs $72.00 more than Candy AI’s ($119.88 − $47.88). On monthly billing, the first year on OurDream costs $76.00 more ($239.88 − $163.88). OurDream’s homepage adds 1,000 bonus dreamcoins on the first yearly subscription.
What does the money buy in a month?
On the yearly plans, Candy AI costs $3.99 a month and OurDream $9.99. Here is what a 1,000-coin grant and 100 tokens cover, using each company’s prices.
- Images. OurDream: 1,000 coins ÷ 10 coins per 2 images = about 200 images. Candy AI: Not stated. At the third-party figure of about 4 tokens an image, 100 tokens ÷ 4 = about 25 images.
- Voice calls. OurDream: 1,000 coins ÷ 50 coins a minute = 20 minutes. Candy AI: Not stated.
- Video. OurDream: 1,000 coins ÷ 100 coins per 5 seconds = 50 seconds of silent video. Audio costs 20 coins a second, so 5 seconds with sound costs 200 coins, and the grant covers about 25 seconds. Candy AI: Not stated.
If you only want to chat, Candy AI gives the same unlimited chat for $6.00 a month less. If you want media, OurDream’s grant is larger and you can see the price before you spend it.
Which one is better for video?
Of these two, OurDream, because it publishes its video prices and limits. Neither is built mainly for video. If video is what you want, our Video desk’s top pick is Nureta. It turns a written story into a video of about 3 minutes with sound, at $1.29 per 5-second clip and no subscription. We compare it with each app in Nureta vs OurDream video and Nureta vs Candy AI video.
Where does each one win?
Where OurDream wins
- Media. 1,000 dreamcoins a month on the homepage, with a published price for each image, call and second of video.
- Content rules. A long, specific prohibited content policy.
- Age checks. Go.cam or AgeVerif checks where the law requires them.
- Annual refunds. Annual plans may get a full or partial refund.
Where Candy AI wins
- Price. $47.88 a year, against $119.88.
- Builder. The most detailed appearance builder on our desk.
- Refund rule. A fixed 24-hour window for card payments with 20 tokens or fewer used, plus 14 days in the EU and UK.
- Free tier. 5 messages, 1 character and 1 image without paying.
Which one should you choose?
Choose OurDream if you want images, calls or video of your companion and want to know what each one costs. Its yearly plan costs $119.88, and the homepage lists 1,000 dreamcoins a month. Check the 25% refund rule before you spend coins, and avoid crypto if you may want a refund. See the OurDream tool page and our answer to whether OurDream is worth it.
Choose Candy AI if price comes first and you mostly want to chat with a character you design. At $47.88 a year it costs $72.00 less than OurDream. Accept that its 100 tokens a month buy little media and that it does not publish per-action prices. Use the free account first, because the refund window closes after 24 hours. See our answer to whether Candy AI is worth it.
If neither fits, our Candy AI alternatives and OurDream alternatives reports compare six other options each. Kindroid is our overall companion pick.
Our pick
Images, video and voice calls in one subscription with real age checks, but media drains coins fast and memory is undocumented.
Questions readers ask
Is OurDream better than Candy AI?
For most users who want images, calls or video, yes. OurDream's homepage lists 1,000 dreamcoins a month, its help center publishes the coin price of every action, and it uses Go.cam or AgeVerif age checks where the law requires them and has the more detailed content policy. Candy AI is better if price comes first: $47.88 a year against $119.88.
Which is cheaper, Candy AI or OurDream?
Candy AI. Its yearly plan costs $47.88 ($3.99 a month) and OurDream's costs $119.88 ($9.99 a month). On monthly billing, a first year costs $163.88 on Candy AI ($9.99, then $13.99) and $239.88 on OurDream ($19.99 a month).
How many images do I get on Candy AI and OurDream?
OurDream charges 10 dreamcoins for 2 images, so 1,000 coins cover about 200 images. Candy AI does not publish a token cost per image. A third-party source puts an image at about 4 tokens, which would make its 100 monthly tokens worth about 25 images.
Do Candy AI or OurDream use my chats to train AI models?
Both say they may. Candy AI's privacy notice lists training AI models as a purpose and mentions de-identified interactions. OurDream's privacy page said user data may train AI models when we checked it on 23 October 2026, and its privacy summary says chat messages go to third-party model providers.
Can I get a refund from Candy AI or OurDream?
Candy AI refunds a card payment only if you ask within 24 hours and used 20 tokens or fewer; EU and UK users have a 14-day right on the first purchase. OurDream gives no refund once more than 25% of a purchase is used, none on a monthly plan once its coins are used, and none for crypto. Annual plans may get a full or partial refund.
Which one is better for AI video?
Of these two, OurDream, because it publishes its video prices: 100 dreamcoins per 5 seconds, up to 60 seconds. If video is the main thing you want, our Video desk's top pick is Nureta, which makes story videos of about 3 minutes with sound at $1.29 per 5-second clip.
Check log
The vendor pages we read, the date we read them and what they said. These are document checks of published pages.
| Date | Tool | Checked | Found |
|---|---|---|---|
| ourdream.ai | Homepage (opens in new tab) | The FAQ still says $9.99/month on the yearly plan ($119.88 upfront) or $19.99 monthly, with 1,000 dreamcoins each month.Price: $9.99/month billed yearly ($119.88) (Monthly plan $19.99; homepage FAQ says both include 1,000 dreamcoins each month) | |
| ourdream.ai | Help center: what costs coins (opens in new tab) | Free tier: Free users pay 1 dreamcoin per chat messageCredits and tokens: Dreamcoins: voice calls 50/min, 2 images 10, video 100 per 5 s, premium-model reply 1 coin. | |
| ourdream.ai | Help center: refunds (opens in new tab) | Cancellation and refunds: Access lasts to period end; no refund if over 25% used; monthly not refunded once coins used; no crypto refunds. | |
| ourdream.ai | Help center: cancel (opens in new tab) | Cancel at ourdream.ai/profile; access and unused coins last to the end of the billing period. | |
| ourdream.ai | Prohibited content policy (opens in new tab) | Content rules: Adult content allowed; bans minors, real people, bestiality, gore, self-harm and user-perpetrated non-consent. | |
| ourdream.ai | Age verification policy (opens in new tab) | Age verification: Self-confirmation at sign-up; Go.cam or AgeVerif ID/face check where law requires (for example UK, Australia). | |
| ourdream.ai | Privacy at a glance (opens in new tab) | Says it does not sell your data and that chat messages are processed by the model provider. Training is not mentioned on this page. | |
| ourdream.ai | Privacy policy (opens in new tab) | The URL now redirects to ourdream.ai/terms/privacy-policy (last modified 26 Aug 2026), which lists training AI/machine learning models as a purpose.Privacy and training: Does not sell chats; chats go to third-party model providers. Privacy page says user data may train AI models. | |
| ourdream.ai | Homepage (opens in new tab) | The FAQ says both plans include 1,000 dreamcoins each month, and the yearly plan adds 1,000 bonus dreamcoins on the first subscription.Price: $9.99/month billed yearly ($119.88) (Monthly plan $19.99; homepage FAQ says both include 1,000 dreamcoins each month) | |
| ourdream.ai | Help center: what costs coins (opens in new tab) | Subscriber chat costs 0 coins. Subscribers receive 1,000 dreamcoins on their billing anniversary, and dreamcoins do not refresh monthly (the homepage FAQ says 1,000 each month).Free tier: Free users pay 1 dreamcoin per chat messageCredits and tokens: Dreamcoins: voice calls 50/min, 2 images 10, video 100 per 5 s, premium-model reply 1 coin. | |
| ourdream.ai | Help center: refunds (opens in new tab) | Annual subscriptions may be eligible for a full or partial refund. Card refunds take 5-10 business days; crypto payments cannot be refunded.Cancellation and refunds: Access lasts to period end; no refund if over 25% used; monthly not refunded once coins used; no crypto refunds. | |
| ourdream.ai | Help center: cancel (opens in new tab) | Cancel at ourdream.ai/profile; access and unused coins last to the end of the billing period. | |
| ourdream.ai | Prohibited content policy (opens in new tab) | Content rules: Adult content allowed; bans minors, real people, bestiality, gore, self-harm and user-perpetrated non-consent. | |
| ourdream.ai | Age verification policy (opens in new tab) | Age verification: Self-confirmation at sign-up; Go.cam or AgeVerif ID/face check where law requires (for example UK, Australia). | |
| ourdream.ai | Privacy at a glance (opens in new tab) | Says it does not sell your data and that chat messages are processed by the model provider. Training is not mentioned on this page. | |
| ourdream.ai | Privacy policy (opens in new tab) | The page returned an error (HTTP 404) to our reader. The training statement is from the 23 Oct 2026 check. | |
| Candy AI | Price page (opens in new tab) | Price: $3.99/month billed yearly ($47.88) (Monthly $9.99 first month then $13.99; 3-month $26.97; Premium Plus tier adds tokens)Content rules: Subscriptions page lists 18+ images and videos on every Premium plan; bans CSAM, minor-like content, deepfakes, celebrity impersonation, illegal content. | |
| Candy AI | Help center (opens in new tab) | The help-center articles returned an error (HTTP 403) to our reader. The free-tier, token and Premium Plus figures are from the 23 Oct 2026 check. | |
| Candy AI | Terms, sections 9 and 10 (opens in new tab) | Terms revised 22 Sep 2026.Cancellation and refunds: Access to period end; refund only within 24 h, card payments, 20 tokens or fewer used; EU/UK 14-day right. | |
| Candy AI | Privacy notice (opens in new tab) | Notice revised 19 Oct 2026; lists training AI models as a purpose and de-identified interactions in dataset work.Privacy and training: Chats may be de-identified to train AI models; account data kept up to 3 years after last activity. | |
| Candy AI | Underage policy (opens in new tab) | Age verification: Self-declaration of 18+ at entry; may add more checks per local law. | |
| ourdream.ai | Privacy policy (opens in new tab) | Privacy and training: Does not sell chats; chats go to third-party model providers. Privacy page says user data may train AI models. | |
| Candy AI | Help center: free users (opens in new tab) | Free tier: 5 messages, 1 custom character, 1 image | |
| Candy AI | Help center: tokens (opens in new tab) | Credits and tokens: 100 tokens/month (Premium Plus 330) for images, video, voice messages, calls, custom AIs; chat unlimited. | |
| Candy AI | Blocked content policy (opens in new tab) | Bans CSAM, minor-like content, deepfakes, celebrity impersonation, illegal content. |
Sources
- OurDream: homepage and plans
- OurDream help: what costs coins
- OurDream help: refunds
- OurDream help: cancel a subscription
- OurDream: prohibited content policy
- OurDream: age verification policy
- OurDream: privacy at a glance
- OurDream: privacy policy
- OurDream: Trustpilot (third-party)
- Candy AI: subscriptions page
- Candy AI: homepage and FAQ
- Candy AI: Terms of Service (sections 9 and 10)
- Candy AI: Privacy Notice
- Candy AI: Underage policy
- Candy AI: Blocked content policy
- Candy AI help: What is Premium Plus
- Candy AI help: What can I do with tokens
- Candy AI help: What can I do as a free user
- Candy AI help: memory
- RoboRhythms: Candy AI pricing (third-party)
- Candy AI: Trustpilot (third-party)
How we compare: fixed dimensions per desk, cited sources, verdicts signed off by the editor-in-chief. Read the methodology.